2015 New Cub Scout Program Notice

The BSA has updated the curriculum for Cub Scouts, and the new program takes affect on June 1, 2015.

As part of this transition, Den 8 (Webelos II), will continue using the old curriculum as our Den 8 scouts work toward their Arrow of Light awards. All other dens will be using the new curriculum for the 2015-2016 school year.

The BSA has more details about this transition:

Recognition is important to young boys. The Cub Scouting advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family understanding as adult family members work with boys on advancement projects.

After achieving their Bobcat rank, Cub Scouts complete a series of Adventures to earn each new rank.


The first rank that every boy must earn when entering the Cub Scouting Program is the Bobcat rank.

Every new scout learns:

Tiger Scout

The Tiger program is for first-grade (or age 6) boys and their adult partners.

Tiger Adventures introduce scouts to:

  • Observing the world around us
  • Hiking and Leave No Trace
  • Playing games
  • Working as a team
  • Eating nutritiously
  • and more!

Wolf Scout

The Wolf program is for boys who have completed first grade (or are age 7).

Wolf Adventures introduce scouts to:

  • Camping with your Pack or your Family
  • Tying knots
  • Keeping responsibilities at home and with the den
  • Conservation, Leave No Trace, and keeping our world clean
  • Hiking safety
  • and more!

Bear Scout

The Bear rank is for boys who have completed second grade (or are age 8).

Bear Adventures require scouts to:

  • Learn pocketknife safety and how to tie more knots
  • Camp, pitch a tent, and cook outdoors
  • Observe animal signs and sounds while outdoors
  • Plan a Pack Carnival
  • Learn about famous Americans and local law enforcement
  • and more!

Webelos Scout

The Webelos program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 9).

Webelos scouts begin working on their Webelos badge as soon as they join a Webelos den. This is the first step in their transition to Boy Scouts. After earning their Webelos badge, scouts will work toward their Arrow of Light rank.

Webelos Scouts:

  • Learn first aid
  • Organize outdoor activities
  • Participate in service activities
  • Learn to light a fire without matches
  • and lots more!

Arrow of Light

The Arrow of Light Award is the highest rank in Cub Scouting.

Upon receiving their Arrow of Light awards, scouts bridge to Boy Scouts, where their scouting adventures continue!